Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Video | Business Headlines | Internet | Science | Scientific Ethics | Technology | Search

 

A science storytelling bike tour of NZ

22 SEPTEMBER 2016

Bicycle Junction and ahundredmillionthings present:

Tour de Science

A science storytelling bike tour of NZ



David Klein – Photo by Callum Devlin

David Klein is a science storyteller and this summer he’s cycling the country with his award-winning one-man show about curiosity, learning and the universe.

Cycling from town to town on a “Big Dummy” cargo bike, Tour de Science will be performed in over 60 locations from November to March, covering the deep South to the top of the North, beginning on 2 November.

“Halls, libraries, theatres and sheds - the show is portable and ready to pop up, wherever,” says David.

Part theatre, part pop-learning, Tour de Science is an effervescent scientific and personal learning adventure. David shares his journey of curiosity and discovery from childhood to adulthood as atoms, cells, evolution, the solar system, stars and beyond are pieced together into a unique and extremely satisfying conclusion.

“From school to school, it’s the story of all the amazing facts I’ve learned along the way, and how through lots of little steps, we can get our heads around the biggest ideas,” says David.


Being “a bit of a science guy” his whole life, and with a radio and public speaking background, David was inspired to try theatre and storytelling after moving to Wellington three years ago.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Tour de Science is a “tweaked and enhanced” version of David’s 2015 show, Toward a Better Understanding of the Universe, which won him Best Newcomer at the 2015 New Zealand Fringe Festival. Reviews said it was ‘almost as perfect an hour as you could have’ (The Plus Ones)

Clever and compelling, aimed at a general adult and teenage audience, Tour de Science is designed to deliver a jolt of curiosity and inspiration to learn more about the world - “Like the coolest TED talk ever,” says David.

Bicycle Junction have generously provided a Surly ‘Big Dummy’ - a large capacity cargo bike which means the whole show can be self-contained, and pedal-powered.

The final list of shows and venues is being compiled, but will cover the whole country.

When the tour finally arrives back in Wellington, the final distance will have ticked over 5000km.

November 2nd 2016 - mid-March 2017

A full list of shows, details and tickets are available from www.tourdescience.com


SOUTH ISLAND SHOWS (currently booking North Island)


PICTON Wednesday, 2 Nov - Port Marlborough Pavilion

NELSON Thursday, 3 Nov - Victory Community Centre

MOTUEKA Friday, 4 Nov - Chanel Arts Centre

MURCHISON Saturday, 5 Nov - Murchison Centre Kinzett Livestock Function Room

WESTPORT Sunday, 6 Nov - Bill Moffitt Cinema, NBS Theatre

BARRYTOWN Wednesday, 9 Nov - Barrytown Hall

BLACKBALL Thursday, 10 Nov - Blackball Working Men’s Club

HOKITIKA Friday, 11 Nov - Old Lodge Theatre

OKARITO Sunday, 13 Nov - Donovan’s

HAAST Tuesday, 15 Nov - Visitor’s Centre Theatre

WANAKA Thursday, 17 Nov - Lake Wanaka Event’s Centre Armstrong Room

TE ANAU Sunday, 20 Nov - Fiordland Community Events Centre

INVERCARGILL Thursday, 24 Nov - The Lodge

STEWART ISLAND (OBAN) Friday, 25 Nov - Community Centre Social Room

GORE Saturday, 26 Nov - James Cumming Wing

DUNEDIN Wednesday, 30 Nov - Toitū Otago Settler’s Museum Auditorium

OMARAMA Saturday, 3 Dec - Community Centre

TWIZEL Sunday, 4 Dec - Events Centre

TEKAPO Wednesday, 7 Dec - Community Hall

TIMARU Thursday, 8 Dec - Caroline Bay Community Lounge

ASHBURTON Friday, 9 Dec - Events Centre Woodham Foyer

CHRISTCHURCH Saturday, 10 Dec - Space Academy

CULVERDEN Wednesday, 14 Dec - Amuri Community Room

KAIKOURA Thursday, 15 Dec - Theatrical Society


ends

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
 
 
 
Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.