Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


SPARC Sport Volunteers Recognised with Awards


SPARC Sport Volunteers Recognised with Awards

Sport Wellington is delighted to announce the finalists of the 2011 SPARC Sport Volunteer Awards.

Sport Wellingon received over 340 nominations for the awards and the judges have had the difficult task of deciding regional finalist in the three categories.

Mark Watson, Community Coach Advisor for Sport Wellington said there were many nominations for people who had given many hours of their time each week to help out at the sport they were passionate about.

``They’re the ones refereeing, washing uniforms, keeping clubs running, they’re the Mums and Dads coaching teams of kids on Saturday mornings.

``It makes me very proud knowing there are people in our region putting so much into sport, into clubs and into their communities.

``Our finalists are inspiring individuals who have gone that extra mile. They put their hand up to help, and it’s been great to recognise their efforts with these awards.’’

This region’s finalists are:
• Wattie’s Student Sport Volunteer Award (for sport volunteers 18 years old or younger)
1. Samantha Vander Veen, Hutt Valley Thunderbolts BMX Club - Coach
2. Ta’amilo Va’a, Naenae College, Volley Ball - Coach
3. Selina Duggan, Clyde Quay School, Hockey - Coach
4. Adam Parsons, Rangikura, Hockey - Coach
5. Chris Roberts, Raumati Swimming Club, Swimming - Coach
6. Anna Stevens, Samuel Marsden, Underwater Hockey - Coach
7. James Mallon, North Wellington Junior Football Club, Football - Coach
8. Lantarna Manuel-Arnold, Samuel Marsden, Underwater Hockey - Coach Official
9. Alex Rollander, Kapiti Junior Hockey Club, Hockey - Coach Official Helper

• SPARC Sport Volunteer Award (for sport volunteers over 18 years of age)
1. Daniel TeTau, Pioneer Rugby Club, Committee - Administrator
2. Jono Wood, Mountain Biking, Committee - Helper
3. Karen McCrae, Equestrian - Coach
4. Juan McDonald, Olympic Harriers and Tawa Football Club, Cross Country, Football - Coach
5. Darren Cassidy, Rugby League - Coach
6. Ivan Karaitiana, Dragon Boating, Coach - Committee Member
7. Ondine Souter, Rangikura School, Queen Margarets College - Coach, Manager, Administrator, Helper
8. Donna Kennedy, Equestrian - Coach, Manager, Committee Member, Administrator
9. Christine Barnett, Squash - Coach, Manager, Committee Member, Administrator, Helper
10. Helen Mallon, Football - Coach, Official, Committee Member, Administrator, Helper
11. Tasi Betteridge, Netball - Official, Committee Member, Administrator

• Lifetime Achievement Award (for 25+ years of service to community sport).
1. Ian Wells, Cricket, Football, Tennis
2. Evan Watkins, Cricket
3. Bernie Wood, Rugby League
4. Ian McDonald, Swimming
5. Bruce Forbes, Equestrian

From this group of finalists the judges will decide on a winner in each of the three categories. The winners will be announced on the 21 September at the Awards breakfast to be held at the Renouf Tennis Centre.

All finalists will receive prizes sponsored by ASB and Caffe L'affare.
The winners receive a Logan Brown Dinner for two, Specimen tree from South Coast Natives, sport store vouchers.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On Populism’s Changing Of The Guard, Plus A Soul Music Playlist

The weekend’s Newshub/Reid Research poll results - Act up to 11.1%, National up 1% but still sitting at only 28.7%, Labour down to 43%, the Greens up to 8.5% - shows that the combined centre right vote is still languishing nearly 12 points behind the combined centre-left vote, 45 months after the last centre-right government was voted out... More>>


Finance: Finance Minister And RBNZ Governor Agree To Update MOU On Macro-prudential Policy

Finance Minister Grant Robertson and Reserve Bank Governor Adrian Orr have updated the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on macro-prudential policy to further protect the financial system and support the Government’s housing objectives... More>>

Government: Offers Formal Apology For Dawn Raids
Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has today formally apologised to Pacific communities impacted by the Dawn Raids in the 1970s.

Between 1974 and 1976, a series of rigorous immigration policies were carried out that resulted in targeted raids on the homes of Pacific families... More>>

Government: Bill Introduced To Protect Against Conversion Practices

Legislation has been introduced to Parliament to protect against practices intended to change or suppress someone’s sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression... More>>


Human Rights Commission: Successive Governments Responsible For Massive Breaches Of The Right To A Decent Home

Te Kahu Tika Tangata / Human Rights Commission has today launched Framework Guidelines on the Right to a Decent Home in Aotearoa and announced that it will hold a national inquiry into housing... More>>

NZUS Council: Welcomes Nomination Of Senator Tom Udall As US Ambassador To NZ

The NZUS Council welcomes the nomination of Senator Tom Udall to the role of US Ambassador to New Zealand and Samoa, NZUS Council executive director Jordan Small said... More>>

BusinessNZ: Visa Extensions Welcomed
BusinessNZ has welcomed the extension of some critical skill visa durations and changes to immigration systems to speed processing. Chief Executive Kirk Hope says move acknowledges advocacy by the hospitality sector, the BusinessNZ Network and others, and comes not a moment too soon.... More>>




InfoPages News Channels