Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


2016 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards Finalists Announced

2016 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards Finalists Announced

7 November 2016 – The finalists of the 2016 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards have been announced. The awards, which celebrate excellence in business, will be held at Vector Arena on Thursday 1 December.

The awards are celebrating their 27th year, having been established in 1990 to annually recognise and applaud outstanding individual and team performances in New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations.

Deloitte Top 200 judging panel convenor Fran O'Sullivan, Head of Business at NZME, says the judges were particularly impressed at the calibre of this year's finalists.

“The finalists are a diverse group of individuals and organisations but the common thread is a passion to see New Zealand companies succeed locally and in some cases also on the international stage.”

Fellow judge Cathy Quinn added choosing between each finalist to select a winner was difficult.

“Every finalist has a great story”, said Quinn, who is chairman Minter Ellison Rudd Watts. “Each is a person or organisation that is held in high regard for their achievements and contribution.

“Judging the very best in New Zealand business is both humbling and daunting. Every finalist is a person or organisation who should be celebrated for what they have done. The Deloitte Top 200 is a night for the business community to come together, put aside individual competitiveness and recognise the success of each of the finalists and the overall winners.”

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

The judging panel also includes independent directors Dame Alison Paterson, Sandy Maier and Jonathan Mason, and Forsyth Barr managing director Neil Paviour-Smith.

Deloitte chief executive Thomas Pippos said, “This year’s group of finalists are an impressive and diverse group. The companies and individuals recognised continue to succeed against the challenging backdrop of our ever-changing business landscape. They are making a difference - both financial and non-financial - to our country, providing meaningful impact in the markets and the communities in which they operate.

“I’m particularly impressed with the calibre of the finalists in the Young Executive of the Year category. This talented group show that the future of business in New Zealand is in good hands.”

The awards would not be possible without the generous sponsorship from several industry leading organisations. QBE Insurance, Eagle Technology, IMNZ, AJ Park, Minter Ellison Rudd Watts, MBIE, Massey University Business School and Orbit World Travel all support and recognise the value of these awards.

Tickets for the 27th annual Top 200 are available here. For more information on the event visit the Top 200 website.

2016 Deloitte Top 200 Awards Finalists

Deloitte and AJ Park Company of the Year Award

• Spark NZ

• Z Energy

• Restaurant Brands

Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year Award

• Mike Bennetts - Z Energy

• Simon Moutter - Spark NZ

• Patrick Davies - Ebos

Massey University Business School Chief Financial Officer of the Year Award

• Gordon MacLeod - Ryman Healthcare

• Andrew Carroll - Chorus

• Jolie Hodson - Spark NZ

QBE Insurance Chairperson of the Year Award

• Rob Campbell

• Trevor Janes

• Chris Moller

Minter Ellison Rudd Watts Excellence in Governance Award

• Nuplex


• Lester Levy

Most Improved Performance Award

• TradeMe

• Zespri

• Kathmandu

Best Growth Strategy Award

• A2 Milk Company

• Ryman Healthcare

• Synlait

MBIE Diversity Leadership Award




Eagle Technology and IMNZ Young Executive of the Year Award

• Sasha Lockley, Head of Operations, Avanti Finance

• Andrew Slater, Chief Executive Officer, Homecare Medical / The National Telehealth Service.

• Kimberley Bray, National Service Manager, Ravensdown

• James Bergin, Chief Architect (GM Architecture, Strategy and Innovation), ASB

• Michael Stribling, General Manager Strategy, Spark NZ

Visionary Leader Award

Announced at the awards ceremony


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.