Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Medical Council appointments and reappointments

Medical Council of New Zealand appointments and reappointments

The Medical Council of New Zealand has four new members.

Dr Curtis Walker, Council’s chairperson said today, the Hon Dr David Clark, the Minister of Health, made the appointments late last week which are effective from Wednesday, 2 October 2019.

The Minister also reappointed three current members for further terms.

Welcoming the new members to Council, Dr Walker said, ‘Nau mai, haere mai ki ngā mema hou. The new members bring a wide breadth of experience and skills to Council that will be invaluable in assuring public health and safety.’

‘At the same time, I am delighted to see the reappointment of experienced and knowledgeable members.’

‘We look forward to welcoming the new Council members at our November meeting, and to working together in the years ahead on behalf of the people of Aotearoa.’

The new medical practitioner members of Council are:
• Dr Stephen Child, an Auckland specialist in the fields of general medicine and respiratory medicine; and
• Dr Charles Hornabrook, a Wellington psychiatrist.
The two new lay members are:
• Mr Richard Aston, a former CEO with a strong business and non-profit background from Auckland; and
• Ms Giselle McLachlan, from Central Otago, who has an extensive legal and business background.
Both have been appointed for a 3-year term.

The following Council members were reappointed by the Minister:
• Dr Lu’isa Fonua-Faeamani was reappointed for a 3-year term of office. Dr Fonua-Faeamani is a general practitioner working in Auckland.
• Ms Susan Hughes QC, a New Plymouth based lawyer, has been reappointed as a layperson for a 2-year term. She is currently deputy chair of Council.
• Ms Kim Ngārimu is a director of a consulting company specialising in the provision of public policy and management advice, and is a member of a number of statutory boards. She is a layperson, and has been reappointed for a 2-year term.

Other members of Council are:
• Dr Curtis Walker, chair
• Ms Kath Fox, layperson
• Dr Ainsley Goodman
• Dr Pamela Hale
• Dr Paul Hutchison
• Professor John Nacey.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Reserve Bank: Official Cash Rate Unchanged At 1 Percent

The Monetary Policy Committee has decided to keep the Official Cash Rate (OCR) at 1.0 percent. Employment remains around its maximum sustainable level while inflation remains below the 2 percent target mid-point but within our target range... More>>


Food Prices: Avocados At Lowest Price In Almost Three Years

Avocados are at their cheapest average price since February 2017, with tomato, lettuce, and cucumber prices also falling, Stats NZ said today. More>>

Auckland Port Move: Cabinet Ministers Deliberate On Report

Cabinet ministers now have a copy of a report urging the government to move the Auckland port up north, but say no final decisions have been made. More>>


Toxicology Tests Planned: Dead Rats Washed Up On Beaches

As many as 600 rats washed up on Westport's North Beach over the weekend to the horror of locals. DOC said they may have been killed by a recent 1080 poison drop 140km away and washed down the Buller River after heavy rain battered the coast. More>>