Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Final Election Results Announced For Horowhenua District Council

All votes have now been counted, and the final election results for the Horowhenua District Council were received on Friday 14 October, giving assurance to the elected candidates.

Bernie Wanden has been re-elected as Mayor for a second term with 5,840 votes over Sam Jennings (3,233 votes) and Victoria Kaye-Simmons (2,537 votes).

Horowhenua District Council will have the Mayor and 12 Councillors, including eight newcomers and four returning Councillors.

Paul Olsen is the new Councillor for the Miranui Ward, and Rogan Boyle and Jonathan Procter are the newcomers for the Waiopehu Ward. Nina Hori Te Pa and Justin Tamihana are elected to the Horowhenua (Māori) Ward. Clint Grimstone, Alan Young and Mike Barker are the new Councillors for the Levin Ward.

A pōwhiri was held on Monday 10 October to welcome the newly Elected Members into Council. “It was a special and moving occasion, and I was pleased to see the new Elected Members and their whanāu enjoy the experience and Horowhenua hospitality,” said Monique Davidson, Council’s Chief Executive.

“Although we’ve hoped for a better voter turnout, I want to thank everyone who made an effort to get out and vote. 11,537 people voted, which is 45.07% of eligible voters excluding special voters.”

“I know the Council team are looking forward to working with the Elected Members through what can only be described as a defining time in the history of Horowhenua with many challenges and opportunities, such as a decision on the Future of the Levin Landfill, a Long Term Plan Amendment, Government reforms and the Ōtaki to North of Levin Expressway,” Davidson ends.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Elected members will take office on Saturday 15 October; however, they cannot act until officially sworn in. The Inaugural Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday 26 October at 6pm, in Council Chambers. The public can attend and meet their Councillors and Te Awahou Foxton Community Board members.

The Final Results for the Horowhenua District Council 2022 Triennial Elections, including Te Awahou Foxton Community Board, are as follows:

Bernie Wanden

Kere Kere General Ward
David Allan
Ross Brannigan

Miranui General Ward
Paul Olsen

Levin General Ward

Sam Jennings

Piri-Hira Tukapua

Clint Grimstone

Alan Young

Mike Barker

Waiopehu General Ward

Rogan Boyle

Jonathan Procter

Horowhenua (Māori) Ward

Nina Hori Te Pa

Justin Tamihana

Te Awahou Foxton Community Board
Nola Fox
John Girling
Trevor Chambers
Brett Russell
David Roache

For the official results, visit 

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On National Spreading Panic About The Economy

The lure for New Zealand to join the AUKUS military alliance is that membership of only its “second pillar” will still (supposedly) give us access to state of the art military technologies. As top US official Kurt Campbell said during his visit to Wellington a year ago:
...We've been gratified by how many countries want to join with us to work with cutting-edge technologies like in the cyber arena, hypersonics, you can go down a long list and it's great to hear that New Zealand is interested...


Government: Retiring Chief Of Navy Thanked For His Service

Defence Minister Judith Collins has thanked the Chief of Navy, Rear Admiral David Proctor, for his service as he retires from the Royal New Zealand Navy after 37 years. Rear Admiral Proctor will retire on 16 May to take up an employment opportunity in Australia... More

Labour: Grant Robertson To Retire From Parliament
Labour List MP and former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Grant Robertson will retire from Parliament next month, and later in the year take up the position of Vice Chancellor of the University of Otago... More

Government: Humanitarian Support For Gaza & West Bank

Winston Peters has announced NZ is providing a further $5M to respond to the extreme humanitarian need in Gaza and the West Bank. “The impact of the Israel-Hamas conflict on civilians is absolutely appalling," he said... More

Government: New High Court Judge Appointed

Judith Collins has announced the appointment of Wellington Barrister Jason Scott McHerron as a High Court Judge. Justice McHerron graduated from the University of Otago with a BA in English Literature in 1994 and an LLB in 1996... More




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.