World Video | Defence | Foreign Affairs | Natural Events | Trade | NZ in World News | NZ National News Video | NZ Regional News | Search


Sec. Council Extends Rwanda Tribunal Judges Terms

Security Council extends terms of judges on the United Nations's Rwanda genocide tribunal

18 July 2008 - The Security Council today extended the tenure of the judges serving on the United Nations war crimes tribunal set up to deal with the 1994 genocide in Rwanda, so as to ensure that all remaining cases can be completed by the deadline set for the court's work.

Under its Completion Strategy, the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR), which is based in the Tanzanian town of Arusha, is supposed to finish all of its trials, excluding appeals, by December 2008. All work is scheduled to be completed by 2010.

In a unanimously adopted resolution, the Council voiced its expectation that the extension of judges' terms of office "will enhance the effectiveness of trial proceedings and contribute towards ensuring the implementation of the Completion Strategy."

The terms of permanent judges Mehmet Güney (Turkey) and Andrésia Vaz (Senegal), who serve on the Appeals Chamber, were extended until 31 December 2010.

Meanwhile, the terms of Charles Michael Dennis Byron (Saint Kitts and Nevis), Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka), Sergei Aleckseevich Egorov (Russian Federation), Khalida Rachid Khan (Pakistan), Erik Møse (Norway); Arlete Ramaroson (Madagascar) and William Hussein Sekule (Tanzania) - permanent judges serving in the Trial Chambers - was extended 31 December 2009.

The Tribunal also has a pool of temporary, or ad litem, judges created to help expedite the court's work, whose terms the Council extended today. The terms of Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon), Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda), Taghrid Hikmet (Jordan), Vagn Joensen (Denmark), Gberdao Gustave Kam (Burkina Faso), Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya), Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea) and Emile Francis Short (Ghana) - all of whom currently serve at the Tribunal - were extended until 31 December 2009.

In addition, the Council extended until 31 December 2009, the terms of office of several ad litem judges who have not yet been appointed to serve at the Tribunal.

They are Aydin Sefa Akay (Turkey), Karin Hökborg (Sweden), Flavia Lattanzi (Italy), Kenneth Machin (United Kingdom), Joseph Edward Chiondo Masanche (Tanzania), Tan Sri Dato' Hj. Mohd. Azmi Dato' Hj. Kamaruddin (Malaysia), Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson (Madagascar), Albertus Henricus Johannes Swart (Netherlands) and Aura E. Guerra de Villalaz (Panama).

The Council created the ICTR in November 1994 to prosecute people responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in Rwanda that year. Some 800,000 Tutsis and moderate Hutus were murdered, mostly by machete, in just 100 days.


Latest World News | Top World News | World Digest | Archives | RSS

© Scoop Media

World Headlines


Werewolf: Gordon Campbell On North Korea, Neo-Nazism, And Milo

With a bit of luck the planet won’t be devastated by nuclear war in the next few days. US President Donald Trump will have begun to fixate on some other way to gratify his self-esteem – maybe by invading Venezuela or starting a war with Iran. More>>

Victory Declared: New Stabilisation Funding From NZ As Mosul Is Retaken

New Zealand has congratulated the Iraqi government on the successful liberation of Mosul from ISIS after a long and hard-fought campaign. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Current US Moves Against North Korea

If Martians visited early last week, they’d probably be scratching their heads as to why North Korea was being treated as a potential trigger for global conflict... More>>


Gordon Campbell: On The Lessons From Corbyn’s Campaign

Leaving partisan politics aside – and ignoring Jeremy Corbyn’s sensational election campaign for a moment – it has to be said that Britain is now really up shit creek... More>>


Another US Court: Fourth Circuit Rules Muslim Ban Discriminatory

ACLU: Step by step, point by point, the court laid out what has been clear from the start: The president promised to ban Muslims from the United States, and his executive orders are an attempt to do just that. More>>