Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Reserve Bank reveals Monetary Policy Challenge finalists

Date: 31 May 2019

Reserve Bank reveals Monetary Policy Challenge 2019 finalists

The Reserve Bank’s new format Monetary Policy Challenge is shaping up to be an exciting competition, with six schools progressing to the final round of the competition.

The six teams who have made it through to the finals of the 2019 Monetary Policy Challenge are Auckland Grammar School, Christchurch Girls’ High School, King’s College, Kristin School, Lynfield College, and Wellington Girls’ College. Auckland Grammar School was last year’s winning team while King’s College and Kristin School were also winners in previous years.

An updated format has been introduced to the challenge this year. In the first round of the competition, each team was required to submit a video presentation of their group delivering their Monetary Policy Statement and their Official Cash Rate (OCR) decision. Thirty two teams from across New Zealand participated in this year’s competition.

Now on its 18th year, the Monetary Policy Challenge is designed to expand students’ understanding of monetary policy. It gives them an opportunity to think like economists and work together like members of the Monetary Policy Committee in assessing economic conditions and recommending what the OCR should be. The competition is open to all New Zealand secondary school senior economics students and contributes towards NCEA achievement standards.

Reserve Bank economists, who judged the entries, were impressed with the calibre of the presentations and the teams’ understanding of critical issues influencing the economy.

“Selecting the top six teams was difficult with all the teams producing exceptional work—both in their video presentations and their written analyses. We were impressed by the number of schools that recognised the new monetary policy mandate and reflected this in their entries. We’re also pleased with the broad range of factors teams considered when making their decisions,” Reserve Bank economists Jamie Culling and Evelyn Truong said.

The six finalists will compete in the national finals next month which will be held via video conferencing.

“We look forward to seeing the top teams justify their decision and apply economic theory to real life situations during the presentations and questions and answers.”

The winning team will visit the Reserve Bank in August to attend the Monetary Policy Statement media conference. They will also receive $2500 cash prize for their school and $500 for each team member.

More information
Read about the Monetary Policy Challenge

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Broken Estate: An Expat Expert Surveys Our Media

Melanie Bunce cut her teeth in journalism at the Otago Daily Times. Now she teaches and researches it at one of the UK’s most prestigious journalism schools and tracks the trends that shape the uncertain future of news... More>>

Controversial Reforms: Te Papa Chief Executive To Step Down

Te Papa’s Chief Executive Geraint Martin announced today he will step down from the role at the end of the year. Mr Martin said he had achieved what he set out to do at the museum, and Te Papa was in a strong position for the future. More>>


A City Possessed: New Edition Of Book Coincides With Ellis Case Appeal

Originally published in 2001, A City Possessed is the harrowing account of one of New Zealand’s most high-profile criminal cases – a story of child sexual abuse allegations, gender politics and the law. More>>


Te Wiki O Te Reo: Tribute To NZers Embracing Te Reo

Māori Language Commissioner Rawinia Higgins says everyday New Zealanders are proving Māori language critics wrong by coming together and embracing our national, indigenous language. More>>


Howard Davis: Four Women In A Man Cave - The Pink Hammer

As the play's publicity package playfully inquires - “Five unhappy people in a shed full of tools. What could possibly go wrong?” More>>

Howard Davis: The NZSO Present Transfiguration

The rich, lush, and luxuriant music of Rachmaninov, Strauss, and Wagner will be in the capable hands of Asher Fisch and French Canadian pianist Louis Lortie. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland