Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


2020 Judith Binney Fellowships and Writing Awards

The Judith Binney Trust has announced the recipients of the 2020 Judith Binney Fellowships and Writing Awards.

The Judith Binney Fellow for 2020 is Dr Michael Stevens (Kāi Tahu). Dr Stevens is an independent historian, previously a Senior Lecturer in Māori History at the University of Otago. The 2020 Judith Binney Fellowship will support the completion of Dr Stevens’ book 'A World History of Bluff.'

Three Judith Binney Writing Awards have also been announced. The recipients are:
• Architectural historian, Ellen Andersen (Tainui); Ellen is writing a book on 100 years of Matangireia, the First Māori Affairs Committee Room at Parliament.
• Writer, Dr Rachel Buchanan (Taranaki, Te Ātiawa); Dr Buchanan will further her research on the action-packed history of Te Motunui Epa, Māori carved panels from Taranaki which ended up half a world away before returning home;
• Kaupapa Māori Researcher, Dr Ngahuia Murphy (Ngāti Manawa, Ngāti Ruapani ki Waikaremoana, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngai Tūhoe). Dr Murphy is exploring the ritual histories of Māori women and their status in traditional society.

2 attachmentsDownload all attachments


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Over 150 Productions: NZ Fringe 2020 Has Launched

The upcoming festival will be held at 40 venues all over Wellington Region from 28 February to 21 March, and includes every genre possible—theatre, comedy, dance, music, clowning, cabaret, visual art, children’s shows and more! More>>


Howard Davis: Three Stocking Stuffers from Te Papa Press

Te Papa has published three wonderfully informative and beautifully produced volumes that describe the people and cultures encountered during Cook's voyages and the Māori cultural treasures he discovered there. More>>

40 Years On: Prime Minister Delivers Erebus Apology

"That loss, in and of itself, was huge. It sent ripples across the country, and trauma that those who weren’t directly affected would probably struggle to fathom. But that loss and grief was compounded. It was undeniably worsened by the events that followed." More>>





  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland