Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Hastings District Council election candidates confirmed

All Hastings District Council wards but one will be contested at the upcoming local body elections, with 26 candidates confirmed to be standing for 14 councillor positions and two people vying for the mayoralty.

The nominations for Hastings mayor are incumbent Sandra Hazlehurst and current Hastings/Havelock North ward councillor Damon Harvey.

As well as running for mayor, Mr Harvey’s name has also been put forward to contest one of the eight vacancies on the Hastings/Havelock North ward.

He is one of 12 candidates for this ward, and joins all seven other sitting councillors contesting their position, along with four newcomers.

The two vacancies on the Flaxmere ward have attracted nominations for current Flaxmere councillors Henare O’Keefe and Jacoby Poulain, as well as four others.

While councillor Rod Heaps will not be standing again for the Heretaunga ward, Ann Redstone is running again, joined by four others vying for this seat.

Mohaka ward councillor and deputy mayor Tania Kerr has one contender for the Mohaka ward.

In the Kahuranaki ward, councillor George Lyons has stepped down, and will be replaced by candidate Sophie Siers, who with no other candidates in contention, will automatically get a place at the council table in this ward.

Similarly, all vacancies for the Kaweka and Tutira community subdivisions of the Rural Community Board and the Flaxmere Licensing Trust have been filled and these people will be duly elected.

Full list of candidates for mayor, wards, Rural Community Board and Flaxmere Licensing Trust:

Mayor: Sandra Hazlehurst, Damon Harvey.


Flaxmere ward (two vacancies): Paula Mihaka, Henare O’Keefe, Peleti Oli, Melanie Petrowski, Jacoby Poulain, Gerraldine Kelly Tahere.

Hastings/Havelock North ward (eight vacancies): Sayeed Ahmed, Bayden Barber, Rebecca Burn, Malcolm Dixon, Damon Harvey, Rizwaana Latiff, Eileen Lawson, Simon Nixon, Rion Roben, Wendy Schollum, Geraldine Travers, Kevin Watkins.

Heretaunga ward (two vacancies): Alwyn Corban, Keith Newman, Ann Redstone, Oliver Taylor, Jason Whaitiri.

Kahuranaki ward (one vacancy): Sophie Siers.

Mohaka ward (one vacancy): Tania Kerr, Stuart Perry.

Maraekakaho Community Subdivision (one vacancy): Jonathan Stockley, Lesley Wilson.

Tutira Community Subdivision (one vacancy): Sue Maxwell.

Kaweka Community Subdivision (one vacancy): Nick Dawson.

Poukawa Community Subdivision (one vacancy): Marcus Buddo, Charmaine Tuhaka.

Flaxmere Licensing Trust (six vacancies): Martha Greening, Christine Hokianga, Bronwen Hopkins, Warwick Howie, Farley Keenan, Bert Lincoln.

Voting papers for the local elections will be delivered to households between 20 and 25 September. Voting papers must be returned by midday, Saturday 12 October.

The candidate list and other elections information can be viewed at www.hastings.govt.nz keyword #elections.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On The RWC, And The Op Burnham Inquiry

Testimony was given that damning evidence had been culpably ignored, lost or (deliberately?) mislaid. The systems for handling secret material from our allies were – to be charitable – only loosely observed.

Moreover… vital evidence was only belatedly made available to the inquiry, and former NZDF officers later found to be central to the events under scrutiny were strangely missing from the original witness list offered by NZDF. In short, last week’s cross-examination of the military’s former top brass demonstrated in detail that the NZDF had consistently misled its Ministers (and the wider public) for years, over the impact of our military activities in Afghanistan. More>>


Guns, Lobbying: National Has Wish List For Arms Bill

National has today outlined the 13 changes we want to see in the second tranche of gun reforms before considering our support, National’s Police spokesperson Brett Hudson says. More>>


Call For Action On Expert Panel Report: Welfare System Needs Urgent Change

If we want New Zealand to be the best place in the world to be a child, the Government needs to increase benefits, remove sanctions, individualise benefits, and fix abatement rates now, says Child Poverty Action Group and ActionStation . More>>


First Data Releases: Mixed External Report On Census Fail Mitigation

The panel endorses the statistical approaches used to mitigate non-response... However, the unprecedented use of alternative government datasets to augment census data raises questions around ethics, social licence, cultural licence, and Māori data sovereignty. More>>


Aitches: Manawatū-Whanganui Region Spelling Corrected

The Manawatu-Wanganui Region will in future be correctly spelt Manawatū-Whanganui Region. The change also means the regional council will be known as the Manawatū-Whanganui Regional Council. Horizons Regional Council is the trading name for the council. More>>

PM In Japan: Jacinda Ardern’s Remarks Following Abe Summit

Today we discussed a wide range of topics. Broadly the themes were: a deeper, high-value trade and investment relationship, greater cooperation in the Pacific; and strengthening our security partnership. More>>


Replacing All But Chair: Twyford Appoints Five NZTA Board Members

Transport Minister Phil Twyford today announced the appointment of five new members to the NZ Transport Agency Board... There remain two vacancies on the NZTA Board which will be filled in due course. More>>


Climate Change: Adaptation And Risk Assessment Framework Released

“We are already experiencing the effects of a changing climate such as coastal inundation and increasingly frequent and severe droughts, floods, fires and storms. This framework is an acknowledgement that we must start adapting”, James Shaw said today. More>>


Ihumātao: Mana Whenua Reach Decision On Land

Māori King Tūheitia says mana whenua have finally reached consensus over what to do with Ihumātao - they want it back. More>>





InfoPages News Channels