Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Provincial Schools Surpass Big City Friends

May 28, 2001

Provincial Schools Surpass Big City Friends For Top Honours

New Zealand’s provincial schools have out shone their peers in the big cities in the 2000 Goodman Fielder School of the Year Awards with the former taking two thirds of the 15 finalist places.

Geographically the country is well represented, from Northland to Otago, however North Island schools dominate the list of finalists.

Chairperson of the Goodman Fielder School of the Year judging panel, the Rt. Hon. David Lange, says the calibre of entries has continued to rise since the awards’ inception in 1997.

“The judging panel’s job was as usual very difficult with an extremely high standard of entries featuring educational initiatives carried out in the first year of the new millennium. These entries reflect the quality of education in this country and the high standard we saw bodes well for the future,” he says.

Joining Mr Lange on the judging panel were former Governor-General Dame Catherine Tizard, Gary McCormick, April Ieremia, Goodman Fielder representative Colin Wise and educationalists Pat Riley and Noel Scott.

Goodman Fielder Managing Director – New Zealand, Ron Vela, says honouring excellence in education through the Goodman Fielder School of the Year Awards is the company’s way of giving something back to the community that has supported it for many years.

“Schools are the cornerstone of any local community and Goodman Fielder is delighted to contribute to New Zealand education through an awards’ programme that recognises and rewards outstanding performance and achievements,” says Mr Vela.
The principal and a student representative from each finalist school will be flown to Wellington to attend a special awards ceremony on Wednesday June 27, at which time the winners and two runners up of each category will be announced along with the overall 2000 Goodman Fielder School of the Year.

The five category winners with each receive $10,000 cash and the 10 runner up schools $1000 each. The overall winner, chosen from one of the five category winners, will be presented with an additional $40,000.

The 15 finalist schools are (in alphabetical order by category):

Small Primary/Intermediate Hora Hora School – Cambridge
Tinui School – Wairarapa
Wyllies Crossing – Mosgiel, Otago

Medium Primary/Intermediate Mountain View Primary – Mangere
Ohaeawai Primary – Kaikohe
Russell Street School – Palmerston North

Large Primary/Intermediate Awapuni School – Gisborne
Papatoetoe Intermediate – Papatoetoe, Manukau City
Tauranga Intermediate – Tauranga

Secondary Auckland Girls’ Grammar – Auckland
Hamilton Boys’ High School – Hamilton
Waitaki Girls’ High School – Oamaru

Composite Carmel College – Milford, Auckland
Maniototo Area School – Ranfurly, Otago
Otamatea High School – Maungaturoto, Northland

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Electronica: Restoring The World’s First Recorded Computer Music

University of Canterbury Distinguished Professor Jack Copeland and UC alumni and composer Jason Long have restored the earliest known recording of computer-generated music, created more than 65 years ago using programming techniques devised by Alan Turing. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Almost Getting Away With Murder

The Black Widow by Lee-Anne Cartier: Lee-Anne Cartier is the sister of the Christchurch man found to have been murdered by his wife, Helen Milner, after an initial assumption by police that his death, in 2009, was suicide. More>>

Howard Davis: Triple Echo - The Malevich/Reinhardt/Hotere Nexus

Howard Davis: The current juxtaposition of works by Ralph Hotere and Ad Reinhardt at Te Papa perfectly exemplifies Jean Michel Massing's preoccupation with the transmigration of imagery in a remarkable triple echo effect... More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: Nō Tāu Manawa

Vaughan Rapatahana responds to Fale Aitu | Spirit House by Tusiata Avi: "fa’afetai Tusiata, fa’afetai, / you’ve swerved & served us a masterclass corpus / through graft / of tears & fears..." More>>

9 Golds - 21 Medals: NZ Team Celebrates As Rio 2016 Paralympic Games Close

The entire New Zealand Paralympic Team, led by kiwi sprinter and double gold medallist Liam Malone as flag bearer, are on the bus to the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro for the Closing Ceremony of the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. There, they will celebrate the fantastic successes of the past 10 days. More>>


New Zealand Improv Festival: The Festival Of Moments To Return To The Capital

The eighth incarnation of the New Zealand Improv Festival comes to BATS Theatre this 4-8 October , with a stellar line-up of spontaneous theatre and instant comedy performed and directed by top improvisors from around New Zealand and the world. More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news