Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | News Video | Crime | Employers | Housing | Immigration | Legal | Local Govt. | Maori | Welfare | Unions | Youth | Search


Open Letter Re Racism

Every election should be a contest of ideas; a fierce debate is a mark of a healthy democracy. But there should be no room - in any part of that debate - for racism.

Yet in this election campaign we are seeing a growing tolerance for racist rhetoric, which is resulting in violent actions, particularly directed towards Māori.

Recently a group of Māori leaders called out this racism in an open letter. Today we lend our voice to the condemnation of racism in New Zealand politics.

Alongside those leaders, we call for politicians of all parties to show no tolerance for racism in their own ranks, and to call out the racism of others.

With less than a week to go before voting ends there is still time for our political leaders to lead the country away from the racial tensions that some are cultivating; and to focus on winning support for their different policies through debate that does not rely on driving division between races to win votes.

We who have signed this letter support an Aotearoa that is working for all of its people, and recognises the status of Māori as indigenous people, and Te Tiriti o Waitangi as a foundational document.

Lucy Lawless, MNZM 

Rob Campbell, CNZM

Michèle A'Court, ONZM

Frances Valintine, CNZM

Siouxie Wiles, MNZM

Philip Bell, DJ Sir-Vere, ONZM

Phillip Mills

Dellwyn Stuart

Julia Whaipooti

George Fowler (Hugo Grrrl)

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Debbie Harwood

Hugh Evans
Jon Batt

Victoria MacLennan

Damian Christie

Morgan Donoghue

Tim Batt

Andrew Chen 
Joshua Drummond

Auckland Women’s Centre/Te Wāhi Wāhine o Tāmaki Makaurau

Chow:Hill architects

Darryl Carey

Stuart Mackie

Brian Squair

Rajan Hira

Simon Woodall

Anner Chong

Draper Cormack Group

Lou Draper

David Cormack

Tasmin Prichard

Kent Duston
Miranda Donovan
Dr Natalie D'Souza
Megan Prentice
Zara Hawthorne

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.